Good Morning, Starshine

One of the most obvious and astounding changes in my behavior since Mom died is that I am waking up spontaneously much earlier than I used to. Like, 6 a.m. or before. In the dark and the cold(ish). Decades of waking at 8 or 9 or even later (having gotten spoiled by working for myself) are a thing of the past, apparently.

This morning I awoke at 6:05, and tossed restlessly for another 20 minutes before deciding it was a useless exercise. I wanted to get up. How bizarre is that?

How long before I’m drinking hot tea and listening to Morning Edition while I watch the sunrise from my back porch? Can journaling be far behind? (And did I really just use “journal” as a verb?)

Categories: Body and Mind | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Good Morning, Starshine

  1. indigo bunting

    Your comment on my post came in at 7:11 a.m.! I am well aware of these changes in your habits. Now you’re up with me (although lately I have been dragged kicking and screaming from the ‘tween the flannel sheets).

  2. Oh, I do hope tea on the back porch at seven with morning edition is not far in your future. It is a lovely way to spend an hour or so.

    I shall be happy to assist you in the road to your corruption. I shall happily come by with orange juice or dandelion miso and so we can sip whilst we listen to Steve Inskeep discuss the virtues of web applications available on the T-Mobile T-1 or the Google Phone and we cock our heads in derision knowing he just screwed up.

    But, as I may have mentioned the other day, I don’t see journaling coming in your future. I think, like me, in a deep, unassuming but equally unabiding way, we are far too narcissistic for that.

    I am out at six, each morning, walking or running. I have to be. If you are getting up then anyway…

  3. I’m always taken by people’s lyrical accounts of getting up at the break of day, sipping something warm as the sun rises, gearing up for the day ahead, meditating, exercising. I resolve to do the same, and then I fail. I NEVER feel like getting up! So to you I say, go for it!

  4. Helen

    And possibly you’ll join a gym?

  5. Ha! I was a gym member for a year. I was very faithful at my workouts, too, which surprised me. Absolutely hated every single moment of it.

    Nope, I need to start walking. Playing. Getting out in nature.

  6. Mali

    I love the early morning, if only I could wake for it. I’m kinda envious of your early morning awakenings.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

