Earwig

Will someone please tell me why in the world this song from the Broadway musical Hair should play over and over and over and over and over in my sleep all night long?

Folding the flag is taking care of the nation;
Folding the flag is putting it to bed for the night.
I fell through a hole in the flag,
I’m falling through a hole in the flag!
Helllllllllllllllp!

Don’t put it down—
Best one around!
Crazy for the red, blue, and white
Crazy for the red, blue, and white

You look at me,
What do you see?
Crazy for the white, red, and blue
Crazy for the white, red, and blue

‘Cause I look different
You think I’m subversive.
Crazy for the blue, white, and red
Crazy for the blue, white, and red

My heart beats true
For the red, white and blue!
Crazy for the blue, white, and red
Crazy for the blue, white, and red
And yellow . . . fringe!
Crazy for the blue, white, red, and yellow!

Categories: Brain, Music | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Earwig

  1. indigobunting

    You’re seeing America, my friend, driving all over it.

    Geez, I hope I can get this out of MY head now.

  2. O.k., how about the one that goes, “So-domyyy, fella-tiooo…” We invited my husband’s grandparents to dinner one day right after Hair came out, and realized to our horror that that was the song we were playing as they walked in. I don’t think they noticed. Now does that help get the other song out of your head?

  3. Yes, and I’m hoping the new song will give me happier dreams….

  4. Great gobs of greasy grimy gopher guts
    Mutilated monkey meat
    Little birdies’ dirty feet
    Top it all off with pulverized vulture beak
    Oops, I forgot my fork.

    Does that help? It does wonders for me.

    I’m not the one to talk. I have been singing “The Girl from Ipanema” all day.

    Yesterday it was “Shores of Jordan” by Iris Dement. Don’t watch. Just listen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5B4VGvIIg_w

    The day before it was the Tibetan chant of The Heart Sutra: GATE GATE PARAGATE PARASAMGATE BODHI SVAHA. Beyond, beyond, past beyond, past past beyond. “Gone, gone, gone to the other shore beyond.”

    Before that. Ganga ki Jai jai, Yamna Ki Jai Jai, Gamna Ki Jai Jai, Yamna Ki Jai Jai, Sarasvati Tri Veni Ki Jai Jai, Sarasvati Tri Veni Ki Jai Jai.

    One a day is all we ask.

  5. Last night it was another selection from Hair:

    Me and Lucifer
    Lucifer and me
    Just like the angel that fell
    Banished forever to Hell
    Today have I been expelled
    From high school heaven

    Elevator going down
    Going down
    Going down

    This is my doom, my humiliation
    October, not June
    And it’s summer vacation
    Such a disgrace
    How can I face the nation?
    Why should this pain
    Bring me such strange e-la-tion?

    Forgive me if I don’t cry
    It’s like the Fourth of July
    Thank god that angels can fly
    Down, down, down
    Going down, down, down
    Going down!

  6. One of these days, I must see this Hair thing of which you speak.

  7. Follow-up. I had not noticed, until after posting my comment, all four of the songs/chants running through my head this week involved water.

  8. Nanu

    Maybe you should just pop it in on the player and get it over with… 🙂

  9. Deloney

    This is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to say “Merry Christmas” to you, Craig, right on Christmas day. So there you go. My guests were late last night so again for the first time I had the chance to quote Rocky Horror when I opened the door: “You got caught with a flat? Well how ’bout that.” Lots of leftover food today, leftover wine, a bottle of single malt scotch (yikes) and Alfie purring like so many muffled church bells.

  10. What a wonderful Christmas, Deloney. I opened presents with my old friend Jim (friends for 50 years now), then he showed me around Norfolk and we went to see “Marley & Me,” which got very weepy at the end. I actually thought of you and Alfie, snuggling together, content against the world. We ate Thai food for Christmas dinner.

    Of course, the leftover food and the single malt is pretty damned fine, too.

    Merry Christmas, my friend.

  11. indigobunting

    By the light of the night it’ll all seem all right, I’ll get you a Satanic mechanic!

    Deloney got me going.

    And Lali, Sodomy is my favorite Hair song, I do believe.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

